Right to Information

1. Particulars of Organisation, Functions and Duties


Centre for Marine Living Resources and Ecology (CMLRE)

Ministry of Earth Sciences
Government of India
Block-C, 6thFloor, Kendriya Bhavan
Kakkanad, CSEZ.P.O, Kochi -682037.

Head of organization: Dr. M. Sudhakar

For organizing, coordinating and promoting ocean research and development activities in the country which inter-alia include mapping of the living resources, preparing an inventory of commercially exploitable living marine resources, their optimum utilization through ecosystem management and R&D in basic sciences on Marine Living Resources and Ecology.

The Marine Living Resources (MLR) Programme envisages survey, assessment, and exploitation of the MLR and studies on the response of MLR to changes in the physical environment with the objective of developing an ecosystem model for the management of the living resources in the Indian EEZ.

The Fishery Oceanographic Research Vessel (FORV) Sagar Sampada is fully utilized for these studies with the support of Vessel Management Cell (VMC). Earlier plan projects include MLR surveys in the EEZ focus on deep sea fishery, Tuna-resources, harmful algal blooms, bioluminescent planktons, marine mammals, environment and the productivity patterns. These efforts are complimented through allied activities under MLR namely studies on benthos of the continental slope area, studies on biodiversity of planktons in Andaman sea, studies on the near-shore dynamics with special reference to upwelling and mud-banks, application-oriented R&D on production of pearls from the black-lip pearl oyster, development of antifouling compounds from the marine organisms, modelling efforts and maintenance of a Data & Referral Centre on FORV collections. Ongoing continuing activities with in-house component only during 2017-20 with a view to strengthening our scientific capability and build the infrastructure in the CMLRE upcoming new campus. The scope mentioned above is proposed to be addressed by restructuring the 12thplan activities based on the IRC recommendations into the following two projects will be carried out during 2017-20,

  1. Marine Ecosystem Dynamics of the eastern Arabian Sea (MEDAS)
  2. Resource Exploration and Inventorization System (REIS)

2. Powers and Duties of Officers and Employees

Powers and Duties of Officers and Employees
Designation Name Power and Duties of Employess
Director, Sc-G Dr. M. Sudhakar Director
Scientist-F Dr.GVM Gupta
Scientist-F Dr.A. Shivaji
Scientist-E Shri N. Saravanane
Scientist-D Dr. Rasheed Kunjumohammed
Scientist-D Smt. C.R Asha Devi
Scientist-D Dr.Sherine Sonia Cubelio
Scientist-D Dr.Anil KumarVijayan
Scientist-D Dr.Smitha B R
Scientist-D Dr.Hashim Manjebrayakath
Scientist-C Shri.Telson Noronha
Scientist-C Shri.M Subramanian
Scientist-C Shri. Vasu C
Under Secretary Shri.Varghese Yohannan
Sr. Accounts Officer Shri. I .J Sunny
Sr. Section Officer Smt. Ajitha Kumari
LDC Shri. Unnikrishanan

3. Procedure followed in the decision making process, including channels of supervision and accountability

4. Norms set by the Department for the discharge of its functions.


While performing the duties assigned to the different officers/staff, they exercise by and large the powers prescribed by the guidelines issued by the Government from time to time as well as those prescribed under different manuals, rules like General Financial Rules, Delegation of Financial Power Rules, Manual of Office Procedures, etc.

5. Rules, regulations, instructions, manuals and records, held by the Department or under its control or used by its employees for discharge its functions


The officers/staff of CMLRE discharge their functions based on the guidelines issued by the Government from time to time as well as those prescribed under different manuals, rules like General Financial Rules, Delegation of Financial Power Rules, Manual of Office Procedures, etc.

6. Particulars of any arrangement that exists for consultation with, or representation by, the members of the public in relation to the formulation of its policy or implementation thereof.


There is no provision to seek direct consultation/ participation of public or its representation formulation of policies of CMLRE or its implementation. The policies should implement after due process and with approval of the approval of Secretary, MoES, Government of India.

7. A statement of boards, council, committees and other bodies consisting of two or more persons constituted as its part or for the propose of its advice, and as to whether meetings of these boards, councils, committees and other bodies are open to the publi

  1. CMLRE Research Advisory Committee
  2. CMLRE Purchase Committee
  3. CMLRE Tender Opening Committee
  4. CMLRE Official Language Implementation Committee

8. Directory of the officers and employees of the Department

Directory of the officers and employees of the Department
Designation Name Telephone(office) Email
Director, Sc-G Dr. M. Sudhakar 0484-2427790 , 02421888(FAX) m[dot]sudhakar[at]inic[dot]in
Scientist-F Dr.GVM Gupta 0484-2426151 gvmgupta[at]cmlre[dot]gov[dot]in
Scientist-F Dr.A. Shivaji 0484-2426163 ashivaji[at]cmlre[dot]gov[dot]in
Scientist-E Shri N. Saravanane 4842108164 saravanane[at]cmIre[dot]gov[dot]in
Scientist-D Dr. Rasheed Kunjumohammed rasheed[at]cmIre[dot]gov[dot]in
Scientist-D Smt. C.R Asha Devi ashacr[at]gmail[dot]com
Scientist-D Dr.Sherine Sonia Cubelio 0484-2421967 sherine[at]cmlre[dot]gov[dot]in
Scientist-D Dr.Anil KumarVijayan 0484-2422016 anilkumarv[at]cmlre[dot]gov[dot]in
Scientist-D Dr.Smitha B R smitha[at]cmlre[dot]gov[dot]in
Scientist-D Dr.Hashim Manjebrayakath hashim[at]cmlre[dot]gov[dot]in
Scientist-C Shri.Telson Noronha noronha[at]cmlre[dot]gov[dot]in
Scientist-C Shri.M Subramanian subramanian[at]cmlre[dot]gov[dot]in
Scientist-C Shri. Vasu C cvasu[at]cmlre[dot]gov[dot]in
Under Secretary Shri.Varghese Yohannan 0484-2423163 uscmlrechn-moes[at]nic[dot]in
Sr. Accounts Officer Shri. I .J Sunny aocmlrechn-moes[at]nic[dot]in
Sr. Section Officer Smt. Ajitha Kumari ajimattathil[at]cmlre[dot]gov[dot]in
LDC Shri. Unnikrishanan unnik[at]cmlre[dot]gov[dot]in

9. Monthly Remuneration Received By Each of its Officers and Employees, including the System of compensation

10. Budget Allocated to Department and to each Agency under its control under the Fourteenth Finance Commission (2017-20)